Sonic Terror: The Day After

Normally I tend to be well on time when I have to perform somewhere, but yesterday things went a bit different for my gig at Sonic Terror 6… I arrived shortly after 7 pm at the venue, shook hands with the organizer, pulled my equipment out of my carrier bag, accepted the drink tokens that were handed over to me, plugged all the cables into the boxes and started playing at 7:15 pm-ish… and with great back-up from the organization along the way! Show went nice and afterwards somebody asked me if I had ever heard of Asmus Tietchens, which for me was a sign that I played well!

live at Sonic Terror 6, Breda

live at Sonic Terror 6, Breda

Sonic Terror mixed poetry with noise on this edition and after my set 2 people dressed as tomatoes entered the stage, spewing out raunchy lines while throwing tomatoes at those members of the audience who weren’t paying attention. I chose to applaud politely during their whole performance as I stood in the front row enjoying my beer… but it was fun as well.

Peter & Hermine at Sonic Terror 6, Breda

Peter & Hermine at Sonic Terror 6, Breda

After the revenge of the creative tomatoes it was time to say hi to some people and get some updates on what has happened in the meantime. We hung out a bit with Nick J. Swarthe and got introduced to Peter “Odal” Zincken’s girlfriend Amanda from Washington DC, who happened to came over to live in the NL around the same time as Leilani in 2009… how bizarre.

Peter & Amanda at Sonic Terror 6, Breda

Peter & Amanda at Sonic Terror 6, Breda

Shortly before we went home I probably saw one of the best performances of 2011 by Kevin “Svartvit” Jansen. Full on walls of noise with a good dose of dynamics and Kevin going totally bezerk in a true trash/power violence style! It was awesome and you had to be there. Go see him in Paris at Instants Chavirés on the 23rd of April!

Svartvit at Sonic Terror 6, Breda

Svartvit at Sonic Terror 6, Breda

Satisfied we left the venue and on our way back home we made a pit stop at the local Burger King feeding ourselves with burgers, fries and chicken nuggets. It was a good night out. The photos in this post have kindly been taken out of the photo set that George posted on his facebook page. By the way, my next gig is on 20th of May in Heerlen opening for Jozef van Wissem!

Leave a Reply

